Short answer: The best free SQE1 question bank is the SRA's own set of 220 sample questions, 130 of which were used in real sittings. The largest paid bank is Ant Law at 14,000+ questions for £39 a month. The cheapest complete bank with full timed mocks is SQE1 Prep at £69.99 for life, and with FQPS Academy's two free mocks it is one of only two products whose mocks already run as two 85-question sessions in the January 2027 format. For independent full papers, THEONEHUNDRED sells three per paper for £79.98 and Revise SQE two online mocks for £70, with new-format editions due in November. Course-bundled banks from QLTS School, the College of Legal Practice, BARBRI, the University of Law and BPP cost £1,990 to £7,100 because a course comes attached. Every price and count below was read from the provider's own website on 20 September 2026.
This post compares practice products only. If you want a course, read the cheapest SQE1 courses ranking; if you only want what is free, the free SQE1 resources guide lists every free source. And if you already have a bank and want to know what your mock score means, the mock score decoder covers calibration provider by provider.
What to check before you buy any question bank
Four things separate a useful bank from an expensive one.
- Explanations for every option, not just the right one. SQE1 is a single best answer exam: several options are legally defensible and one is best. A bank that only tells you the answer teaches recall; a bank that explains why each wrong option is wrong teaches the judgement the exam tests. The MCQ technique guide explains why that distinction matters.
- Full timed papers in the real structure. From January 2027 each FLK paper is 170 questions in two sessions of 85, with 2 hours 33 minutes a session and a fixed group of subjects in each session (FLK1: business, dispute resolution and legal services in session one; tort, contract and the legal system, including constitutional, administrative and EU law, in session two. FLK2: wills, trusts, land and solicitors accounts in its wills context in session one; property practice, solicitors accounts in its property context, criminal liability and criminal practice in session two). A mock built as a single 180-question paper still gives you practice, but not a rehearsal. The January 2027 changes post has the full session table.
- Filtering by subject and topic. You will spend most of your practice time on the high-yield topics and your weak subjects, so a bank you cannot filter wastes hours.
- Access that outlasts your exam date. A resit is £1,003 a paper, and monthly plans and "expires the day after the exam" access both punish a resit. Check the access column below before you compare prices.
Price per question is a crude measure, but for a product whose whole value is the questions, it is the honest one. The table further down works it out.
Every SQE1 question bank compared
Free sources first, then paid banks in ascending price for a single purchase or one month. "January 2027 format" means the provider's full mocks already use two sessions of 85 questions.
| Provider | Questions | Price | Access | Explanations | January 2027 format? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SRA sample questions | 220: 90 original (45 per paper) plus 130 pre-tested (65 per paper) that were used in real sittings | Free | Online in English and Welsh, plus PDFs | Answers; the 130 pre-tested questions show the percentage of candidates who got each one right | Not a mock. The SRA says the samples "are not designed to be a full mock exam" |
| SQE1 Prep | 4,400+ across all 144 topics | £69.99 once or £19.99 a month | Lifetime or monthly; 5 free questions a day without paying | Every option explained; filter by subject and topic | Yes. Full FLK1 and FLK2 mocks run as two 85-question sessions with the SRA subject groups |
| Ant Law | 14,000+ (5,000+ per paper) | £39 a month for both papers, £25 a month for one | Monthly; 10 free sample questions | "Detailed explanations", plus 100 AI questions a month | No mention. The site still describes two papers of 180 questions |
| Lawprof | 4,000+ | £35 a month | Monthly; free FLK1 and FLK2 mocks | Not stated on its pricing page | Not stated |
| Kinnu Law | 3,000+ MCQs, 4 mock exams, 4,000+ flashcards, 350+ notes | £48 a month after a 7-day free trial (no card needed) | Monthly, cancel anytime | AI assistant for questions | Not stated |
| FQPS Academy | 400+ / 1,200+ / 3,800+ MCQs on the Revision / Practice / Master plans | £79 / £129 / £279 a month, or £189 / £329 / £699 per three months | Cancel anytime; two free mocks on sign-up | Mentor and study planner included | Yes for the two free mocks, which are 2 × 85 questions each |
| Oxford University Press, SQE Prep & Practise | 500+ practice MCQs per assessment plus a 90-question unseen mock for each (OUP's own page says "over 1,200" in one place and "just under 2,000" in another) | £225 per assessment, £450 for both | Digital only; no free trial for individuals | Answer-specific feedback with a section reference | Not stated |
| BARBRI SQE1 Boost | 1,200+ across FLK1 and FLK2 | £499 | From three months before your exam until after it | Explains why the wrong options are wrong | Not stated. Next intake 5 October 2026 for January 2027 |
| Law Drills SQE1 Pro / Max | Adaptive bank, size not stated ("unlimited practice questions") | £195 / £395, one payment | Until 31 January 2027; free start with 30 credits (Law Drills counts its free questions at 130) | AI tutor explanations | Not stated |
| Brigitte's FLK | 720 in the SQE1 Bundle Pack; 360 in each extra mock set | £119.99 bundle (list £241.86); mock sets £19.99 each | Six months | Notes, guides and 140+ video explainers | 2027 editions, but the mock sets are 360-question papers |
| UOLLB SQE1 Mock Exam | 340 (170 FLK1 and 170 FLK2) | £32.99 (list £39.98) | PDF, instant | "Detailed explanations" for each question | 170 a paper, but as one sitting, no session split |
| Devil's Advocate (app) | Bank size not stated; MCQs, flashcards, notes, mini-mocks and full mocks | £28 a month, £75 for three months, £142.99 for six | Subscription | Not stated | Not stated |
Course-bundled banks. Five providers only sell their questions inside a course. QLTS School gives 2,500+ MCQs with 10 mocks (Basic, £1,990) or 30 mocks (Advantage £2,490 and Premium £2,990), with access for two consecutive sittings or until you pass, and free FLK1 and FLK2 mock tests before you buy. The College of Legal Practice course (£2,200) has 2,300+ MCQs, 10 timed progress tests and 360 revision MCQs with 14 months of access. BARBRI's SQE1 Prep (£2,999 for 10 or 20 weeks, £3,299 for 40) includes 3,200+ MCQs, eight mock tests and one fully simulated mock. The University of Law (£5,250 outside London, £6,650 in London; £5,750 for the online course for legal professionals) gives enrolled students 3,000+ questions in its SQE Revision app, and non-students a free subset. BPP (£5,900 regional and online, £7,100 London) bundles its bank and internal assessments into the course and offers 50 free MCQs and one free mock exam through a callback form. The individual reviews of BARBRI, BPP and the University of Law cover what the rest of those fees buy.
Every SQE1 mock exam compared
A "mock" here means a full-length timed paper, not a set of practice questions. The size column is the number of questions in one paper.
| Provider | Full mocks | Size and timing | Price | January 2027 format? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SQE1 Prep | FLK1 and FLK2, a fresh draw every time | 85 + 85, 2 h 33 min a session, break screen between sessions, subjects grouped as the SRA groups them | Included in £69.99 once or £19.99 a month | Yes |
| THEONEHUNDRED | 3 per paper (540 MCQs) or 6 in the Ultimate bundle (1,080 MCQs); a free mock test | 180 questions in two sittings of 90, 153 minutes each | £79.98 per three-mock bundle (list £89.97); £151.99 for six (list £179.94); explanations for every question | Not yet. The site banner says the team "is already on it" |
| Revise SQE (Fink Publishing) | One FLK1 and one FLK2, online (run with Law Drills) or as the Practice Assessments books | 170 questions a paper | £40 an online mock or £70 the pair; £32.40 for the pair of books | New-format editions announced for early November 2026, free to buyers who bought direct |
| BARBRI SQE1 Mocks | Two FLK1 and two FLK2 papers, 720 new questions | 180 questions a paper | £899 (the page shows discount code REVISE26); explanations at the end of each test; access from three months before your exam until the day after | No. Still 180-question papers |
| QLTS School | 10 (Basic) or 30 (Advantage, Premium); free FLK1 and FLK2 mocks before you buy | Not stated | Inside the £1,990 to £2,990 packages | Not stated |
| FQPS Academy | 2 + 2, 4 + 4 or 7 + 7 by plan; two free mocks on sign-up | Free mocks are 2 × 85 questions | £79 to £279 a month | Yes for the free mocks |
| Kinnu Law | 4 | Not stated | Inside £48 a month | Not stated |
| Brigitte's FLK | Mock 1 and Mock 2 (Mock 3 "coming soon") | 360 MCQs a set | £19.99 a set | No |
| UOLLB | One FLK1 and one FLK2 | 170 a paper, PDF | £32.99 | Single sitting, no session split |
| OUP SQE Prep & Practise | Two 90-question "mini-mock" assessments of unseen questions | 90 a paper | Inside £225 per assessment or £450 for both | No |
| BPP | One free mock, size not stated, plus 50 free MCQs | Not stated | Free through a callback form | Not stated |
| AllAboutLaw | Free 90-question FLK1 mock | Taken down while a version with "10 extra questions" is built; register interest for the relaunch | Free | Not stated |
| College of Legal Practice | 10 timed progress tests | Not stated | Inside the £2,200 course | Not stated |
Two calibration notes from the mock score decoder: QLTS School's mocks score well below the real exam (the decoder's calibration is real ≈ mock + 14.5%), and the SRA's 130 pre-tested questions are close to the real thing on both difficulty (53.1% of candidates answered them correctly, against 56.2% in real sittings) and length (208 words a question against 206). The SRA publishes those two comparisons on the sample questions page, which makes its set the best benchmark for whether another provider's questions feel right.
Price per question
One-off prices as sold; monthly plans costed at three months, which is the shortest sensible revision run. Course-bundled banks are excluded, because most of the fee buys teaching.
| Product | Price | Questions | Cost per question |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ant Law, three months | £117 | 14,000+ | 0.8p |
| SQE1 Prep, lifetime | £69.99 | 4,400+ | 1.6p |
| Lawprof, three months | £105 | 4,000+ | 2.6p |
| Kinnu Law, three months | £144 | 3,000+ | 4.8p |
| Brigitte's FLK, one mock set | £19.99 | 360 | 5.6p |
| UOLLB SQE1 Mock Exam | £32.99 | 340 | 9.7p |
| THEONEHUNDRED, six mocks | £151.99 | 1,080 | 14.1p |
| Revise SQE, two online mocks | £70 | 340 | 20.6p |
| FQPS Practice, three months | £329 | 1,200+ | 27.4p |
| OUP SQE Prep & Practise Complete | £450 | 1,200 to 2,000 | 22.5p to 37.5p |
| BARBRI SQE1 Boost | £499 | 1,200+ | 41.6p |
| BARBRI SQE1 Mocks | £899 | 720 | £1.25 |
The cheapest questions are not automatically the best questions. Ant Law's 14,000 is a volume nobody will finish, and the site has not yet been rewritten for the 170-question paper. BARBRI's £899 mocks are the most expensive questions on the market, but they are new, unseen and written by a course provider that also writes the course. The table tells you what you are paying for; the two tables above tell you what you get.
Which providers are ready for the January 2027 format
As of 20 September 2026, ten days after the SRA announced the change:
- Already in the new format: SQE1 Prep (full mocks in two 85-question sessions with the SRA's subject groups, on the website now and in the iOS app update awaiting review) and FQPS Academy's two free mocks (2 × 85 each).
- Announced: Revise SQE is reissuing both Practice Assessments books for early November 2026 in the new structure, free to direct buyers of the current editions; THEONEHUNDRED's banner says the team "is already on it".
- No sign yet: Ant Law still describes 180-question papers; BARBRI's mocks are four 180-question papers; Brigitte's sells 360-question mock sets; UOLLB's PDF is 170 a paper as a single sitting; Kinnu, Law Drills, OUP and QLTS School do not mention the change on their product pages.
None of this makes an old-format bank useless. The SRA has not changed the question style, the blueprint or the subjects, only the number of questions and the session split, so a well-explained 180-question paper is still 180 questions of practice. What you need at least once before January is a rehearsal of the real day: 85 questions, a break, 85 more, with the second session drawn from different subjects. Use the free mock exam guide to fit that into the last four weeks.
What to buy, by budget
£0. The SRA's 220 questions first, and the pre-tested 130 last, because they carry the difficulty data. Then FQPS's two free new-format mocks, QLTS School's free FLK1 and FLK2 mocks, THEONEHUNDRED's free mock, BPP's 50 questions and free mock, Law Drills' 130 free questions and Lawprof's free mocks. That is well over 1,000 questions for nothing; the free resources guide has the links and the catches. Add SQE1 Prep's five free questions a day if you want a daily habit before you commit.
Under £100. SQE1 Prep's lifetime plan (£69.99) is the only product under £100 that combines a full bank, filtering by topic, every option explained and full mocks confirmed in the new format. If you already own a bank and want a second opinion, THEONEHUNDRED's three-mock bundle (£79.98) gives three full papers for one FLK, timed in two sittings, with explanations for every question, while Brigitte's two 360-question mock sets (£39.98 together) and UOLLB's 340-question PDF (£32.99) are the cheapest ways to buy complete papers.
Under £300. Three months of Ant Law (£117) or Kinnu (£144) if you prefer a subscription with an AI assistant; OUP's SQE Prep & Practise (£225 a paper, £450 both) if you want a publisher's manuals wrapped round the questions. Revise SQE readers should wait for the November editions before buying the mocks; the Revise SQE review explains why.
Course-bundled. QLTS School's Basic package (£1,990) is the cheapest way to get a taught course, 2,500+ questions and 10 mocks in one purchase. Above that you are paying for teaching, not questions; compare the providers head to head before you decide that is what you need.
Whatever you buy, the question bank versus books post covers the order to use them in, and the practice questions by subject page is where to start if your weak subject is already obvious.
How to use a question bank so the money is not wasted
- Work by topic first, then by paper. Topic sets expose what you do not know; full papers test whether you can hold it for 2 hours 33 minutes. Do the topic sets until each subject is above your target, then switch to full papers.
- Read the explanation for every option, including the ones you rejected. The marks you lose in the real exam are on questions where two options look right. The only way to fix that is to learn why the near-miss is wrong.
- Keep a running score by subject, not just a total. A 65% overall that hides a 40% in trusts is a fail waiting to happen. The scaled score guide explains why the SRA's pass mark is set per paper, per sitting, and why your subject breakdown predicts more than your total.
- Sit at least two full papers in the new structure before the exam. Two sessions of 85 with a break, subjects split as the SRA splits them, no notes.
Prices and counts on this page were read from each provider's website on 20 September 2026. Providers change prices without notice, so treat every figure as a starting point and check the provider's page before you pay.
