SQE1SQE1 Prep
FeaturesCurriculumPricingEbooksAppBlogPodcastFree study planFAQ
Login
Home/Blog/Cheapest SQE1 Prep Courses 2026: Every Provider Ranked by Price

Cheapest SQE1 Prep Courses 2026: Every Provider Ranked by Price

20 September 2026·13 min read
Prefer audio? The whole SQE1 syllabus is a free podcast — 144 episodes.Listen →

Short answer: The cheapest taught SQE1 course from an established provider is QLTS School's SQE1 Basic at £1,990, followed by the College of Legal Practice at £2,200. The cheapest monthly plan is FQPS Academy at £79 a month. The cheapest complete question bank with full mocks is SQE1 Prep at £69.99 for life. The most expensive option is BPP in London at £7,100. Whatever you choose, the SRA's own fee of £2,006 sits on top and does not vary. Every price below was read from the provider's own website on 20 September 2026.

This is a price-ranked list, not a quality ranking. If you want the case for and against the three big names, read BARBRI vs BPP vs ULaw and the individual reviews of BARBRI, BPP and the University of Law. This post answers a narrower question: what does each route actually cost, and what do you give up as the price falls?

The one cost you cannot shop around

The SRA charges £2,006 for SQE1 (£1,003 for FLK1 and £1,003 for FLK2) for every assessment from September 2026 onwards, VAT exempt, payable when you book. A resit of one paper is £1,003; both papers again is £2,006. The fee is set by the assessment date, not the booking date, so there is no cheaper rate to lock in for January 2027. The full cost breakdown covers SQE2, admission and the rest.

That fixed £2,006 is the reason course price matters so much. A course is the only large number in the budget that you control.

Every SQE1 prep option ranked by price

Entry price first, cheapest at the top. "MCQs" means practice questions with explanations. Pass-rate claims are the provider's own; the SRA publishes no provider figures, so the denominator matters more than the headline.

ProviderSQE1 priceFormatWhat you getPass-rate claim
SQE1 Prep£19.99 a month or £69.99 lifetimeOnline, self-paced4,400+ MCQs with explanations, full FLK1 and FLK2 mocks, 5,500+ flashcards, study notes for all 144 topics; 5 free questions a day without payingNone claimed
Revise SQE (Fink Publishing)Practice Assessments ebook bundle £32.40 (list £36); online FLK1 or FLK2 mock £40 each, £70 for bothBooks, ebooks, audiobooks, online mocksPer-subject revision guides, mock-exam books, two attempts at each online mock within six monthsNone claimed
Kinnu£48 a month, 7-day free trialApp (desktop and mobile)3,000+ MCQs, 350+ study notes, 4,000+ flashcards, 4 mock exams, AI assistantNone claimed
FQPS Academy£79 / £129 / £279 a month (Revision / Practice / Master), or £189 / £329 / £699 per three monthsOnline, self-paced, cancel anytime400+ / 1,200+ / 5,900+ MCQs, 2+2 / 4+4 / 7+7 FLK mocks, mentor and private tutor access; Master adds four one-to-one sessionsNone published
Brigitte's FLKSQE1 Bundle Pack £119.99 (list £241.86), six months' accessNotes and videosNotes and guides for every subject, 140+ video explainers, 720 practice questions; extra 360-question mock sets £19.99 eachNone claimed
Law Drills (Practice Works)SQE1 Pro £195 one payment; SQE1 Max £395Online adaptive question bankAdaptive bank with AI coach, access until 31 January 2027; Max adds at least 12 live tutorials and the premium mocks; free start with 30 creditsSelf-reported, conditional on practice scores
QLTS School£1,990 / £2,490 / £2,990 (Basic / Advantage / Premium)Online, self-paced2,500+ MCQs, 5,000+ flashcards, 18 textbooks, 10 mocks (Basic) or 30 mocks (Advantage and Premium), tutor consultation; Premium adds two hours of one-to-one tutoring94%, but only among candidates who completed 25 or more mocks (July 2023)
College of Legal Practice£2,200Online, 13, 20 or 40 weeks2,300+ MCQs, 10 timed progress tests plus 360 revision MCQs, 10 personal supervisions, live seminars, hard-copy manuals, 14 months' continued accessNot published
Law Training Centre£2,700 (Exam-Track) or £2,900 (Flexi-Learn, up to 15 months' access)Online, on demand1,500 MCQs plus 1,000+ mock questions and 2,000+ self-test questions, weekly live workshops, unlimited tutor support, Passplus (one extra attempt)None stated
BARBRI£2,999 (Accelerated 10 weeks or Focused 20 weeks), £3,299 (Flexible 40 weeks)Online with learning coach3,200+ MCQs, 8 mock tests plus one fully simulated mock, unlimited coach sessions, free course retake within 12 months if you fail62% of those who completed at least 90% of the course (July 2025)
University of Law£5,250 outside London, £6,650 London (2026/27 starts); £5,450 and £6,900 from June 2027Campus, 14 to 46 weeks, full- or part-timeDigital study manuals included, mocks throughout, revision app, weekly lecturer feedback76% first attempt in January 2026, from over 2,000 survey responses
BPP£5,900 (Birmingham, Bristol, Cambridge, Manchester, Leeds, Online), £7,100 London HolbornClassroom or live online, 4 months full-time or 10 months part-timeWeekly small-group classes, hard-copy and online materials, MCQ practice, internal SQE1-style assessments, drop-ins and one-to-one tutor access"80%", denominator not stated

Prices read from each provider's own site on 20 September 2026. Providers change prices between intakes and some run discounts; treat this as the map, and confirm on the provider's page before you pay.

Free

Get a week-by-week SQE1 study plan for your exam date

Exam date and hours per week in, a personalised plan across all 144 topics out, by email. No account needed.

Build my free plan

What changes as the price falls

The table sorts by money. What actually varies is four things, and it helps to know which one you are paying for.

Teaching. Above about £2,000 you are buying someone to explain the law to you: recorded lectures, live seminars, supervisions. Below it you are buying practice: questions, mocks, flashcards and notes that assume you can learn the substance from the materials.

Human accountability. BPP and the University of Law run cohorts with timetables and tutors who notice if you vanish. The College of Legal Practice gives ten personal supervisions. BARBRI gives a learning coach. Below £400 nobody chases you, which is either a feature or the reason you fail.

Guarantees. BARBRI's SQE Guarantee lets you retake the course free within 12 months if you fail; Law Training Centre's Passplus gives one extra attempt at the course. Neither refunds the SRA's £1,003 per paper.

Volume. This runs the other way. The cheapest tier is not short of questions: SQE1 Prep has 4,400+, FQPS Master 5,900+, BARBRI 3,200+. What separates providers on volume is the quality of the explanations and whether the mocks are timed and scored like the real thing. The mock score decoder shows how provider mock scores translate.

The total, with the exam fee included

RouteCourseSRA feeTotal for a first attempt
Question bank only (SQE1 Prep lifetime)£69.99£2,006£2,075.99
Question bank plus books (SQE1 Prep lifetime plus the 13-ebook bundle)£119.98£2,006£2,125.98
Six months of a monthly platform (FQPS Revision)£474£2,006£2,480
Cheapest taught course (QLTS School Basic)£1,990£2,006£3,996
College of Legal Practice£2,200£2,006£4,206
BARBRI Accelerated or Focused£2,999£2,006£5,005
University of Law outside London£5,250£2,006£7,256
BPP London£7,100£2,006£9,106

Add £1,003 for each paper you resit. Under the January 2027 format that is still one fee per paper, so a candidate who fails FLK2 alone pays £1,003 to sit it again, not £2,006.

Who should pay for the expensive end

This is not a post that pretends everyone should buy the cheapest thing.

  • Your firm is paying. Sponsored trainees usually go where the firm sends them, and the price is irrelevant to you. Pick on timetable and cohort instead.
  • You have never studied these subjects. Non-law graduates coming straight from the PGDL decision often need teaching before practice makes sense. A question bank tells you what you got wrong; it does not build the subject from nothing.
  • You need external structure. If you know from experience that self-set deadlines slip, a cohort with a timetable is worth money. Be honest about this before you buy the cheap option and then buy the expensive one in March.
  • You failed once on self-study and cannot see why. A tutor's diagnosis has real value on a second attempt, although a well-read score report and the resit guide get most people there.

Who should not

  • Law graduates with recent knowledge. You have already been taught contract, tort, land, equity, criminal and public law. What you lack is practice-area content and exam technique, and both are cheaper to buy than a second degree's worth of lectures.
  • Disciplined self-studiers. Candidates pass every sitting on self-study with a question bank and books. The evidence for expensive courses raising pass rates is thin, because every provider's figure is self-selected.
  • Anyone paying in a weaker currency. International candidates already carry the £2,006 fee; the Indian, Nigerian and Pakistani guides work through the sums.
  • Anyone whose real gap is volume. If you know the law and keep failing mocks, more questions with better explanations fix that. More lectures do not.

Monthly or one-off?

Monthly plans look cheap until you multiply them. Six months of Kinnu is £288; six months of FQPS Revision is £474; six months of FQPS Master is £1,674. Law Drills' £195 runs to 31 January 2027 regardless of when you buy. SQE1 Prep's lifetime plan costs the same as three and a half months of its monthly plan, so anyone studying for four months or more should buy lifetime, and a resit costs nothing extra.

The other monthly trap is cancelling too early. Most candidates want their question bank open until the day before the exam and for a resit if it comes to that, so price the plan over the whole run-up, not the first month.

What is genuinely free

  • The SRA's own sample questions: 220 questions written by the exam's authors, the best free calibration there is. Our guide to using them explains what they can and cannot tell you.
  • Trials and free tiers: Kinnu's seven-day trial, Law Drills' 30 free credits, and SQE1 Prep's five free questions a day plus the free study plan.
  • The rest of the free layer is mapped in free SQE1 resources and the under-£100 plan.

Do not pay twice

  • Manuals inside the fee. The University of Law includes its digital study manuals in the course fee; BPP includes its materials. Do not buy the books separately as well.
  • SQE2 bundles when you only need SQE1. BARBRI's SQE Complete Prep is £5,499 for both stages. It is only a saving if you are certain you will use the SQE2 half with the same provider.
  • Two question banks. One bank, worked to exhaustion, beats two banks half-used. Add mocks from a second source (Revise SQE's £70 pair is the usual choice) if you want a fresh set of questions late on.
  • A course whose mocks are the old shape. From January 2027 each paper is 170 questions in two sessions of 85 with fixed subjects per session. Ask any provider whether its mocks have been rebuilt for that before you rely on them as a rehearsal.

What to do next

  1. Write down the £2,006 first. It stops the course fee looking like the whole cost.
  2. Decide which of the four things above you are actually short of: teaching, accountability, a guarantee, or practice volume.
  3. Buy the cheapest option that supplies that thing. For most law graduates and most resitters it is practice volume, and the pricing page shows what £69.99 covers.
  4. Keep the SRA sample questions as your yardstick whatever you buy.

The cheapest line in the table is £69.99 for life.

4,400+ practice questions with worked explanations, full FLK1 and FLK2 mocks, 5,500+ flashcards and study notes for all 144 topics. £69.99 once or £19.99 a month, with a 14-day money-back guarantee.

Compare the plansView pricing

Get a free week-by-week SQE1 study plan

Tell us your exam date and hours per week — we’ll email you a personalised plan covering all 144 SRA topics. No account needed.

Hours per week
Pathway

No spam. Unsubscribe in one click. We’ll send 3 follow-ups with SQE1 tips.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest SQE1 prep course?
Among taught courses with tutor support, QLTS School's SQE1 Basic at £1,990 and the College of Legal Practice at £2,200 are the cheapest as of 20 September 2026. The cheapest monthly plan is FQPS Academy at £79 a month, and the cheapest complete question bank with full mocks is SQE1 Prep at £69.99 for life. The SRA's £2,006 exam fee is payable on top of any of them.
Can you pass SQE1 without paying for a course?
Yes. Candidates pass every sitting with a question bank, books and the SRA's free sample questions. The SRA publishes no pass rates by provider, and every provider's own figure is drawn from a self-selected group, so there is no independent evidence that a £6,000 course beats a disciplined self-study plan. The people who benefit most from an expensive course are those who need teaching from scratch or external structure.
Is BARBRI cheaper than BPP and the University of Law?
Yes, by a wide margin. BARBRI's SQE1 courses are £2,999 (10 or 20 weeks) or £3,299 (40 weeks). The University of Law charges £5,250 outside London and £6,650 in London for 2026/27 starts, and BPP charges £5,900 at its regional centres and online, or £7,100 in London.
How much does the SQE1 exam itself cost?
£2,006 for assessments from September 2026 onwards, made up of £1,003 for FLK1 and £1,003 for FLK2, VAT exempt. A resit of one paper is £1,003. The fee is fixed by the SRA and is the same whichever course you buy, or none.
Are monthly SQE1 plans cheaper than one-off courses?
Only for short periods. Six months of Kinnu costs £288, six months of FQPS Revision £474 and six months of FQPS Master £1,674. SQE1 Prep's lifetime plan at £69.99 is cheaper than four months of its own £19.99 monthly plan. If you will study for four months or more, or might need a resit, a one-off or lifetime price usually wins.
Do cheaper SQE1 courses have lower pass rates?
Nobody knows. The SRA does not publish pass rates by provider, and the figures providers quote come from different, self-selected groups: BARBRI's 62% counts only candidates who completed 90% of the course, QLTS School's 94% counts only those who completed 25 or more mocks, and BPP does not state its denominator at all. Comparing those numbers with each other, or with a self-study route, tells you nothing reliable.
Does the January 2027 format change affect which course to buy?
It changes what to check. From January 2027 each SQE1 paper has 170 questions in two sessions of 85, with a fixed group of subjects in each session. Any course or question bank is still useful, because the question style is unchanged, but ask whether the provider's full mocks have been rebuilt to the new length and session split before you rely on them as a rehearsal.
All posts
SQE1 Prep — The Audio Course cover art

Free audio course

Prefer to listen? The whole SQE1 syllabus is a podcast.

144 episodes · ~51 hours · every topic in about fifteen minutes, with a worked exam question in each. Free on Spotify, Apple Podcasts and right here.

Browse the episodes
14-day money-back guarantee

Ready to start preparing?

One-time payment. Pick the plan that fits your timeline. Start with the free readiness quiz.

Free readiness quizView pricing

Enjoying this? Unlock all 144 topics, mock exams & flashcards.

View Pricing
SQE1SQE1 Prep

Affordable SQE1 exam preparation — practice questions, flashcards, mock exams, and in-depth study notes built around how the exam actually works.

Download on the App Store

Product

  • Features
  • How it works
  • Curriculum
  • Pricing
  • Ebooks
  • iOS app

Resources

  • Free study plan
  • Free readiness quiz
  • Blog
  • Podcast
  • FAQ
  • About
  • Contact
  • Leave a review

Legal

  • Privacy
  • Terms
  • Refund
  • Cookies
  • AI Policy
  • Support

SQE1 Prep is an independent study platform and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) or Kaplan, the official SQE assessment provider. “SQE” refers to the examination our materials help you prepare for. All questions, flashcards and notes are original works based on the published assessment specification — they are not real SQE exam questions. Content is provided for educational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and no exam result is guaranteed.

© 2026 SQE1 Prep · Sitemap · Built by Vishwen Labs